Meditation and Yoga in your daily routine


I’ve been going to a very rough period lately and it just happens to be in the middle of the break of my Kundalini Yoga class. Usually I get a lot of relaxation and stress relief from the lessons, but now I have to figure out a way to do this on my own. So I want to incorporate meditation and yoga into my daily routine.

Lately I’ve been focussing on my breathing and making sure I took some time every day to practice some conscious breathing, just to relax a bit, even if it’s just for a few minutes a day. But I’ve noticed that isn’t enough anymore.

So now I’m doing five sun salutations and a couple of minutes of meditation every morning when I wake up and every night before I go to sleep. And it really helps! I’ve got a few tips if you want to start doing this yourself.

The below video explains the sun salutation. You can create your own variation of it and just remember that you’ll have to find a sun salutation that works for you and that feels natural. The movements have to flow into each other. During my sun salutations I listen to a meditation radio (Nirvana, find it on Shoutcast), which helps me relax and prepare myself for the meditation.

If you don’t know what meditation is or how to begin, this next video might help you out. I have trouble to stop my own thinking, but when I focus on my third eye it gets a little easier. Also, I turn on an online alarm clock before I start my meditation, this way I won’t get stressed about how long I’ve been meditating and I can be completely focussed.

Comments are closed.
