Fable: The Lost Chapters (Xbox)


Since I still haven’t finished playing Fable II and I’m currently having trouble finishing it, since I’m bored out of my mind, I’ll entertain you with an old review on Fable (dated 2006). Enjoy!


A young boy loses all he knows to a band of thugs that plunder his village. His father gets killed before his own eyes, his mother and sister get abducted. You might think his life is over and it would have been if it wasn’t for the guild of heroes!

In Fable you play the role of a young man who, trough a twist of fate, gets a chance to be a hero in the medieval world of Albion. You have to train, fulfil missions and save the world to become the ultimate and most famous hero in the country, but mostly you just want to loose you status as ‘chicken chaser’ which is given to you at the start of your heroic life. During this game you will be the most occupied with gaining experience by completing quests or killing opponents. With this experience you can create, customize and develop your own unique character. From the moment I started the game I was addicted, it was a Black & White déjà vu…


In the beginning your world is very small, because you need to learn a lot about being a hero and you have to train and graduate form the guild of heroes. But it isn’t long before you are set off into the wide world of Albion and can fulfil requests of anyone who is in need of a hero.


The guild is the centre of your world where you can choose the different quests and sub-quests in the Map Room, but there is a whole world for you to explore. If you don’t want to do quests, you can try to get a wife or multiple wives! You can have one wife in every town. But they are needy, you need to keep them happy and I found that they didn’t add much to the game-experience. They aren’t useful, so unless you like some NPC very much, I suggest you don’t get a wife. But if you had enough of her, you can ignore her and eventually she’ll divorce you (although unfortunately that never happened to me).

https://i2.wp.com/newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/40154000/jpg/_40154056_fable_love203.jpg

During the game you’ll get golden quests. These are the quests that follow the story and give you a clue to what has happened to your sister and your mother. The other side-quests (the silver and bronze quests) are also a lot of fun to do, especially when you have had enough of those golden ones, because some of them can be gigantic like ‘the Graveyard Path’ which leads to ‘Rescue Scarlet Robe’ and ‘Prison Escape’.

This is a wonderful game from Lionhead Studios with a lots of depth, a good story and lots of humour. And for all the Black & White fans: listen to the sound of the lightening miracle, sounds familiar?

The best thing about Fable is the character development. First of all, you can become an evil or a good hero. Which influences everything in this game: the way people react to you, how you look, which kinds of skills you can adapt. Also the skill-system is very simple. You gain experience trough quests or just slaughtering people, villains or monsters. Then you can go to the green portal in the Heroes’ Guild and deposit your experience to the skills you want to develop. There are three sets of skills: strength, skill and will. Will is the skill I ignored the most, as for the first-time player it is much easier to develop her strength and skill more than her will. Will is the most difficult skill to use.


Next to the experience you gather, you can also gain renown and this influences how people see you and if they see you at all. In the beginning you are not renown at all, people won’t react to you and they will call you chicken chaser over and over again. This got very annoying to me, as I didn’t understand why they were calling me chicken chaser. I thought the people were mocking me, because I was a pathetic little hero, but I found out almost near the end of the game that you can buy your Hero Name at two shops (one is located near the Heroes’ Guild and one outside of the Arena). So the second time I played, I abused this function and made myself well-known as ‘Deathbringer’.

The transportation system of the game makes the game so much more fun. In almost every location there are Cullis Gates. With these sphere-like portals you can travel from one place in the world to the next within the blink of an eye. You can also use your Guid Seal (press and hold ‘down’ on you d-pad) and transport from anywhere in the world to a Cullis Gate. An unfortunate and sometimes annoying part of this is that near the Darkwood Bordello there’s no Cullis Gate. In the game you can become the owner of the Darkwood Bordello or you can make it a refuge for women. When you own the Bordello, you’d like to collect the rent, but this is an annoying job and you have to either walk a great distance or make sure that you can respond at the Bordello.


In Fable there are cut-scenes, but after a few Golden Quests and when you really achieve something (like a marriage or saving your mother or killing your sister or become the evil lord of the universe) there is this medieval-like storyteller who tells the story of the little boy who grew up to become a hero. These are short movies that remind me of the images you see on the walls of churches, telling the story of Jezus. These are images telling your own story, with a man reciting the text. I found this a very nice addition to the game, it made me feel like what I did was important and that I would become a great hero.

The character you play has no name, except for the heroic title (like ‘Chicken Chaser’ or ‘Deathbringer’ as I mentioned before). I don’t know why the designers choose to leave the character unnamed, but I think it was a good choice. I noticed I got more attached to my hero when I played the game and I liked having control over what the NPC’s called me.

The thing I like most about games is that they can suck you into their world, in the same way a good book can. This game does that for me. It creates this little romantic world called Albion where there still are Heroes who rescue the world from the ultimate evil. That’s also the reason why this game is replayable.

The Xbox controller is very complex, especially if you compare it with that of the GameCube or the Dreamcast. But in Fable (and also in Jade Empire) they have found a way to make use of all its different buttons, without it feeling absolutely ridiculous and not necessary. Someone said to me that designers sometimes try to make the game to fit the different buttons on the controller and try to give every button a function. Apart from the fact that every button has a function in Fable, you don’t get that idea as you play the game. There is one thing that is absolutely completely incredibly annoying: the click functions on the a-sticks. Often when I was involved in a fight (with the huge kraken back at the jail where I just rescued my mom as you can see in the video below) I accidentally clicked the right a-stick and the map popped-up. This led to receiving a lot of unnecessary hits. During the heat of the moment, you don’t want you picture to get blurry because of the stupid design of the controller!


The second time I played Fable, I wanted to become the evil lord of the universe. Or in normal words: an evil hero. So I did everything I could wrong, evil, inhuman. I slaughtered whole villages. I did everything you’re not supposed to do and enjoyed it very much, but then I had to face the consequences: everyone was scared off me. Which not only resulted in people screaming, but also in them running away from me in terror. I could not talk to people anymore. I could not say hi, it got to a point where I had to chase the merchants to get them to sell things to me, even after I saved their lives! This is a very weird aspect of the game. When you’re a good hero, people cheer and would love to help you, but when you’re bad it has mostly negative consequences and no advantages I could think of. The delicate balance between good and evil is also very systematic and easily manipulated. Although it is funny how people respond to your looks, it gets boring after a short while.

The story of this game is good, but not great. It is predictable and not very complex. Although I think its great that at the very end they leave room for a sequel (and not in a tacky way). The problem I have with the story is that it becomes very annoying when you play the game for the second time. It isn’t a replayable story, because its too simple. So the second times the Golden quests aren’t that interesting, but you can still have a lot of fun doing other stuff in the game. But this is a big negative point of the game. It would have been nice if there were other storylines, that had nothing to do with the main storyline, integrated in some sub-quests and if there were more sub-quests in general.


Tips & Cheats

Fable has a lot of stories, stuff and places you can explore besides the main Golden quests. I enjoyed myself very much with kicking chickens around, fighting in the different fight clubs at night and also trying to get the most experience I could possibly have, so I could have all my skills developed to the max. But if you’re not a big fan of those things, there are lots of different stuff you can do! You can for example get a tattoo, change your clothes or decorate your own homes.

I also want to give you this tip: buy as much health or mana potions as possible! These come in very handy and if you buy them every time you can buy them, you won’t die during the game. Which is my worst fear every time I play a game in which I like my character very much.

Another big life-saver: the physical shield spell and the heal life spell. You should develop your Will skill to the fullest and get the physical shield spell early on in the game. Activate the spell every time your in a fight. This way your experience multiplayer will increase very fast and the whole game becomes much easier and less stressful.


Comments are closed.
