Fools Gold by Mouthwash


This is an oldy for me, but I still love the song. Mouthwash is an illusive band from London with a ska-punk sound. A friend of Daan’s former band (Repozal) had downloaded some of their songs and played it for us. I immediately fell in love with Fools Gold. After a while I went searching for more info on Mouthwash, but only found the above featured video on youtube. The quality is bad to say the least, but it gave me proof of their existence. After a few months I got hold of their album, 1000 dreams, through ebay. and I still listen to it regularly. Below you can get an idea of the intro of Fools Gold, not performed by any of the band members, but by a fan:


According to wikipedia and Epitaph Records Mouthwash was formed in 1995 by Ben McCarthy (vocals), Rob Tortelli (guitar), Rich Fry (bass) and Chris Hugall (drums). After they released their own EP Music for the Average Ninja and supporting Rancid, the band signed with Hellcat Records and released 1000 dreams, which is to this day one of my all time favourite punk albums ever.

I’ve tried to keep track of the band, but I’ve failed miserably, which wasn’t really my fault at all, since they apparently split up. Ben McCarthy is gone and they have a new set-up and a new sound… They’re now more poppy and more reggae-like. I hate it!! Mouthwash had such an awesome sound. The guitars were wicked, the lyrics incomprehensible, yet really deep, the drum and bass are just…. and their music is hardcore. It’s such a shame they’ve become such pussies! You can listen to this new band here.

On the positive side, I still have their totally awesome album 1000 dreams. Fools Gold is the first song that I downloaded, after which I eventually bought the album. It’s a very fast paced song with incredibly awesome guitar solos and excellent drums, not to mention the bass! A lot of friends of mine hate the vocals, but I love them (it’s the London accent), before I bought the album I spend many hours trying to figure out what he was singing and after learning the lyrics and practicing many times, I still can’t sing along with Ben. And I learned the entire Kikkoman in just 15 minutes… Fools Gold’s totally freaking awesome, go download it somewhere, listen and enjoy.

Lyrics

Your mind is set

No attempts to change a trend gaining momentum
None the less I must confess that I’ve seen
All the fruits of labour that you can receive
But it’s rotten when you get there
Do believe gonna see
How can you act like a friend of those you steal from
I see you hug and embrace them with open arms
I never learned to trust a person like that
Or it’s an arm ’round your shoulder and a knife in your back

The streets are paved with gold
But its only fools gold that you’ll get
So strong yet you can’t fight temptation
The easy way out is your only solution
The streets are paved with gold
But its only fools gold that you’ll get
So strong yet you can’t fight temptation
The easy way out is your only solution

You’ll never know what it’s like to have some sense of pride in self
You’ll never know what its like to have some piece of mind
When you know you don’t do wrong
Every time I look into your eyes
Let me say that it won’t be long
Till I walk into your line of fire
Let me say I stand strong
I’m not afraid to let your secret out
Yet people talk and shout oh high
You won’t believe but when your bridges are burnt
And the ashes away
You’ll feel the blow with every word I say

The streets are paved with gold
But its only fools gold that you’ll get
So strong yet you can’t fight temptation
The easy way out is your only solution
The streets are paved with gold
But its only fools gold that you’ll get
So strong yet you can’t fight temptation
The easy way out is your only solution

Well seasons change but patterns stay the same
A routine never broken is the crime of staying sane
One day you wanna to run
One day you wanna to hide
One day you’re gonna look back at the things you left behind
I said that I don’t know what you could be thinking
Sailing on a ship that’s slowly sinking
You aint the same person when you’re drinking
Taking all you can, you’re never content with what you’re giving
Yes I know

because I’ve seen it in the mirror
And I know

it won’t be long before you fall
Lack of control
Lack of a feeling you belong
You’re on your own
If that’s your choice then carry on
Because nothing that I can say or do to stop you
Rule of the streets says that you do what you got to
But others around with watch the rise in your revenue
And sooner or later they’re going to take it from you

The streets are paved with gold
But its only fools gold that you’ll get
So strong yet you can’t fight temptation
The easy way out is your only solution
The streets are paved with gold
But its only fools gold that you’ll get
So strong yet you can’t fight temptation
The easy way out is your only solution

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (2)
    • Anonymous
    • November 28th, 2008

    Your link to the ‘pussy’ Mouthwash myspace page is the wrong one – it actually goes to a false frozen account. If you actually listen to their new album you would see the way they have naturally progressed and have mostly made darker and heavier sound for themselves. If you want to see the real myspace page then go to http://www.myspace.com/mouthwashlondon

  1. Thanks, I’ve changed the link, but I still don’t appreciate the new found sound.

Comments are closed.
