I Kissed a Girl by Katy Perry


OK, maybe she’s totally fake and only doing it for the money, I still love this song! Can’t help it, it just triggers something in me and it fascinates me. But that’s not why I made it song of the week. I love the fact that there’s someone singing about this casual bisexuality, even if it’s not intended that way.

I believe that people fall in love with a person, not with a gender and I hope that in the future people will be more tolerant of gay or bisexual people and songs like this, however shallow, contribute to that tolerance. And it’s not like T.A.T.U’s All The Things She Said where there are two girls kissing and it’s all about the teenage-lesbian-girl-thing, but this song is about accidental bisexuality, sexual experiments and therefore sexual freedom. I see that as empowering, positive and a wonderful step towards tolerance of people’s sexual nature. So go Katy!

Lyrics

This was never the way I planned
Not my intention
I got so brave, drink in hand
Lost my discretion
It’s not what, I’m used to
Just wanna try you on
I’m curious for you
Caught my attention

I kissed a girl and I liked it
The taste of her cherry chap stick
I kissed a girl just to try it
I hope my boyfriend don’t mind it
It felt so wrong
It felt so right
Don’t mean I’m in love tonight
I kissed a girl and I liked it
I liked it

No, I don’t even know your name
It doesn’t matter,
You’re my experimental game
Just human nature,
It’s not what,
Good girls do
Not how they should behave
My head gets so confused
Hard to obey

Us girls we are so magical
Soft skin, red lips, so kissable
Hard to resist so touchable
Too good to deny it
Ain’t no big deal, it’s innocent


Comments are closed.
