Totoro Forest Project


Like always, I was just casually browsing the net (avoiding work on my dissertation) and I came upon this initiative by Hayao Miyazaki. Totoro Forest Project is a collaboration of artists to save the Sayama Forest (the forest that inspired Totoro). I love these initiatives that bundle creativity for a noble cause!

Like always, I was just casually browsing the net (avoiding work on my dissertation) and I came upon this initiative by Hayao Miyazaki. Totoro Forest Project is a collaboration of artists to save the Sayama Forest (the forest that inspired Totoro). I love these initiatives that bundle creativity for a noble cause!

During my time in London my friend Owen made me watch loads of Studio Ghibli movies. I already knew some of them, but I totally loved it! I’m a big fan of fairy tales and in essence, I think all of Studio Ghibli’s movies are little fairy tales. They’re a huge inspiration for me, with their amazing visuals and wonderful stories that just blow me away. Just like the early Disney works (Aladdin, The Little Mermaid) inspired me, these works by Ghibli have added another layer to my imagination.

We should cherish forests, trees and everything green in this world. They’re a source of play, fun and love. It’s funny how many creative people get inspired by nature. Miyazaki himself was inspired by the Sayama forest. When I met Michael & Auriea from Tale of Tales in Brussels, they told me they were inspired by their local park for their game The Endless Forest. We drove passed the park on our way to their studio and the trees were just amazing. Old, huge and totally pretty, it was a magical place. I go for walks on the Sint Pietersberg a few times a week to enjoy the nature there and just watch it grow and develop from season to season. If you ask me, creativity and nature are connected.

It’s really cool that all these creative people put their effort into such a cause like this forest and raise awareness about our connection with nature. I hope you take the time to see their art and read the stories behind their work.

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (2)
  1. Judith, thanks for your comment on my illustration. I was exploring your blog and came across this post. The Totoro Forest Project is an amazing initiative indeed. I wish I heard of it earlier… they don’t accept submissions anymore.

  2. Yeah, the Totoro Forest Project is a really great initiative! Your work would have been great for it, I really love it.

Comments are closed.
